Cocoa Coffee Cake

I have a rule when it comes to baked goods.

I only eat baked goods that I make myself. And no, it’s not because I’m some pretentious baked good snob, the rule was enacted in an attempt to keep my baked good intake to a minimum.

The concept encourages me to think about sweets in a new way…

When I see a really amazing chocolate cake at a coffee shop or a party, Instead of thinking,

That looks so good I have to get that chocolate cake

I think to myself… ” That looks so good, I have to make chocolate cake when I get home“. Rather than feeling deprived, I feel inspired.

So here’s to having your cake and eating it too.

Cocoa Coffee Cake

This cake is moist and earthy, a pronounced chocolate flavor and not overly sweet. A thin swipe of chocolate glaze is optional, but definitely recommended.

1 cup strong coffee

8 tbls butter

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 and 3/4 cups of brown sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

3 eggs

1 1/2 cups plain yogurt ( use whole milk or at least 2%)

 

Preheat over to 350.

Butter and flour a bundt pan.

Melt butter in a small saucepan, remove from heat and stir in the cocoa powder and coffee. Set aside to cool.

Whisk together the dry ingredients: flour, sugar, baking soda, salt

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs and yogurt. Stir in the cocoa- butter- coffee mixture. Fold in the dry mix.

Pour the batter into the bundt pan and bake for 35-45 minutes.

Top with this. Optional. But recommended.

Chocolate Glaze

3/4 cup powdered sugar

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2 tbls milk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cocoa Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

