Strawberry Maple Cannoli’s

Ok, so I am not a pastry chef. I now have a profound appreciation for pastry chefs and thier culinary skills. I fiddled with a bag of canoli cream for almost an hour before I finally got it to work. By then it had turned into a creamy puddle that you see in the picture above. I finally figured out that there was a mini chocolate chip jammed in the tip of the pastry bag. So I ended up eating most of it right out of the end of the bag. Hopefully you will have better luck with pastry bags than I did.

Back to the strawberries. There’s nothing quite like fruit dipped in chocolate. Then pumped filled with cannoli cream. Can we still call this a healthy dessert? Yes, we absolutely can! Here is why: It’s fruit, it’s all natural and this homemade cannoli cream has a good amount of protein and absolutely no added sugar.

I saw something like this in the Philadelphia Inquirer years ago, but it had a cream cheese base, which was much heavier.  I like this lighter version with ricotta and maple syrup.

I tried this a few different ways, and I found that covering only the bottom half of the strawberry worked best. When the entire strawberry is covered in chocolate, the strawberry gets lost in all that chocolate. We don’t want to overdo it, now!!

To make the cream, get about 1 cup of ricotta cheese and drain out the excess liquid. Dump into a food processor and add about 2 Tbls of maple syrup, 1 tsp vanilla and a dash of cinnamon. Pulse until creamy. If you don’t like the texture of ricotta cheese, try splashing some heavy cream in the mix to smooth it out. I added about a 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips, and I ‘m glad it I did, because it was awesome!

Leave a Reply

