Arugula Salad with Roasted Chic Peas and Pistachios

In college I survived on Chicken Caesar Salad and Diet Coke. Way back when, I knew I wanted to eat healthy, but I didn’t know how to eat healthy. I knew that salad was good, and diet soda didn’t have any calories, so I thought I was doing pretty good. I haven’t had a diet soda in years, and my version of Chicken Caesar salad is miles apart of what I was eating in the college dining hall. The lettuce wasn’t even green, it was more of whitish, greenish brown hue saturated with heavy dressing and stale croutons.

Now I have a better idea of what a salad should be. It should be bright green, with lots of other cheery colors and the dressing should just be a glossy drizzle, kind of like a giant field of wildflowers with the sun coating the tops of the flower buds. Was that a little too much? I know. I just love salad!!  Who doesn’t feel good after eating a giant salad? Especially when it has roasted chic peas, pistachios, and spicy radishes like this one? This is a meal kind of salad. The chic peas and pistachios make it a balanced vegetarian dish. Ok so maybe chic peas and pistachios are not bright and cheery, but they sure are good.

arugula Salad

bunch of arugula

bunch of radishes, thinly sliced or chopped

about a 1/4 cup of pistachios, roasted and salted

1 can of chic peas( 2 cans if you want leftovers for snacking) rinsed and drained

balsamic dressing

parmesan cheese, shaved

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Toss chic peas with oil oil and salt and pepper. Roast for about 25 minutes on a baking sheet.

Toss arugula and radishes with balsamic dressing, top with pistachios and roasted chic peas.

Leave a Reply

