Oatmeal Chocolate Banana Bread

Back in my breastfeeding days, I picked up a book called Mother Food. It had a banana bread recipe that supposedly helped breastfeeding women produce more milk. I ate a lot of while I was nursing, and I made some changes to the recipe over the past few years –  mainly by adding chocolate! Now it’s a family favorite. I never told my husband where I found the original recipe. He would think something completely weird, like he was going start lactating if he ate a piece.

Oatmeal Chocolate Banana Bread

½ cup butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 cup bananas

1 ½ cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

½-1 cup oatmeal

¾ cup chopped nuts ( or chocolate chips)

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter and sugar together, adding one egg at a time.  Add bananas, then the flour, baking soda and salt. Stir well, and add the oatmeal. After oatmeal is incorporated, add the chocolate chips and vanilla.

Pour into a greased or lined loaf pan and bake for 55 minutes.

Leave a Reply

