Chocolate Granola Recipe

Chocolate Granola!

I am so in love with Kashi Cocoa Beach granola. I don’t love that it is $6 a box and I don’t love that I have to drive across town to get it. So I made a batch of my own chocolate granola this morning and after eating half of it by noon I really wished that I had doubled the recipe. This evening I read an article about how Kashi is being removed from some natural food store shelves, since they use Genetically Modified ingredients in many of their products. I was pretty bummed to hear this; I always thought Kashi was a strong values and morals kinda company.  At least they portrayed themselves to be, anyway.

Here’s the link if you’re interested:

http://greenitall.com/kashi-natural-cereal-non-gmo-soy-pesticides-and-lies/

So back to the chocolate granola. This is relatively healthy and has a nice chocolaty flavor, but not overly sweet. I don’t want my granola to taste like candy. I want candy to taste like candy. The original recipe is from Cooking Light called for canola oil, but I use butter. I love butter. There’s only 2 Tablespoons, so what the hey!? This is my modified version of the Cooking Light recipe.

Chocolaty Granola

3 ½ cup whole oats

½ cup of rice krispies

½ cup packed brown sugar

1/3 cup almonds, chopped

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp cinnamon

1 tsp. cocoa powder

2 Tbls butter

¼ cup honey

¼ cup dark chocolate, chopped

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat the oven to 30 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Combine the oats, krispies, brown sugar, nuts, salt, cinnamon, and cocoa in a large bowl. Give it a good stir.

In a small saucepan, melt the butter on low (or canola oil) and stir in the honey. Once it is warm, remove from the heat and add the chocolate. Stir until chocolate is melted and fully incorporated. Stir in the vanilla.

Pour the chocolate mixture over the oat mixture and mix thoroughly. Pour the mixture on the baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes. Stop halfway through and give it a stir.

Beware, this is very addicting!!!

Leave a Reply

