Raised Garden Bed

Not only do raised garden beds allow one to refine the quality of soil, but they also act as a bumper for small children on big wheels.

I followed this tutorial I found from www.thepioneerwoman.com. It is a very utilitarian bed, but can be jazzed up to your taste. It only took about 1 hour to make it, but it also took me an hour to find the screws in the hardware store. It was literally like trying to find a needle in a haystack.

Since I am the Maker Girl, it is my job to make this raised bed. I must have been asking the Maker Boy( my husband) a lot of questions, because he came out and asked if I needed help every 5 minutes or so. “No, no, I’m fine, I can do it myself”, I said.

I accepted his help when I started trying to drill the two boards together at the corner. They kept separating, and it helps to have a pair of strong hands to hold them together while drilling.

If you don’t own a mallet, grab a nice rock from the yard.

raised garden bed
