clementine vinaigrette and upcycling the crates

clementine vinagrette 3 (1 of 1)

Clementine peeling is an Olympic sport in my house. I don’t like to brag, but I can peel 10, maybe 12 clementines in 4 minutes flat. And the kids eat them just as fast as I can peel them, leaving me lucky if I manage to nab a few slices for myself. So I stashed a few away to make this sweet-savory clementine vinaigrette. It is light and clean and can dress a simple harvest salad or grace the top of a grilled fish fillet.

clementine vinagrette 2 (1 of 1)

 

If you are an avid clementine consumer, I’m sure you have a secret stash of clementine crates piling up in a closet somewhere. I painted mine with a distresses style and organized all my doo-dads throughout the house. Here’s a painting kit, complete with a glass water jar, smock, paints, and brushes.

clementine crate 2 (1 of 1)

clementine crate (1 of 1)

Clementine Vinaigrette

2 clementines, peeled

2 tsp. finely diced shallot

1 tsp. honey or simple syrup

1 cup olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Juice the clementines in a medium-sized bowl. Whisk in the diced shallots and honey. Slowly stream in the olive oil and continue whisking. Salt and pepper to taste.

3 thoughts on “clementine vinaigrette and upcycling the crates

Leave a Reply

